You know all this, and some of it is basic. But there might be a co-worker, family member, friend, or neighbor who could use your help, particularly if they don’t know if they can vote today, or have a problem voting. I hope this helps. This info is from the NJ Division of Elections:
If you encounter a voting machine that isn’t working properly: Most if not all of the congressional campaigns have election lawyers working with them today; your campaign will want to know if there’s a problem with a machine you have to vote on. Call them. In addition, most county parties also have lawyers on call today. Contact info for NJ County Democratic parties. [This part of the info is from us, not from the non-partisan Div. of Elections].
Find your local county election official: Local election officials for each NJ county
To vote in New Jersey, you must be: a United States citizen, at least 18 years old, a resident of the county for 30 days before the election not currently serving a sentence, probation or parole because of a felony conviction ( <— yeah, we need to change that)
Regarding unaffiliated voter in primary election: New Jersey’s primary election law allows unaffiliated voters to select a party when voting in the Primary Election. However, voters registered as Democrats can only vote in the Democratic primary and voters registered as Republicans can only vote in the Republican primary. An unaffiliated voter who declares a party by voting in the primary can return to their unaffiliated status after the primary by re-registering as an unaffiliated voter.
Regarding voters who move between counties at least 30 days before election: Voter may vote in new election district because voter has satisfied the 30-day residency requirement under the State Constitution, but must be registered to vote in the new county by the 21st day before election.
Regarding voters who move between counties less than 30 days before the election: Voter can go back to old election district and vote. If a person moves into a county less than 30 days before the election and registers to vote for the first time in the State by the 21-day deadline, that person cannot vote because he or she has not satisfied the 30 day county residency requirement under the State Constitution.
Complaints? Reach out to New Jersey Division of Elections at (609) 292-3760.