2017 Primary: Let the race begin

Yesterday at 4:00 pm was the deadline for candidates to submit signed petitions to run in in the June 6 primary. The Division of Elections posts its list of Unofficial Candidates and other information about the 2017 primary here.*

FOR NJ GOVERNOR: 6 D’s & 5 R’s are in the race


There are 44 D’s and 44 R’s running for 40 seats. In most but not all districts there is at least one R and one D in each race. See the full list here.


There are 99 D’s and 92 R’s for 80 seats. In most but not all districts there are at least two D’s and 2 R’s in each race. See the full list here.

Notable legislators who are not running for re-election in 2017For Senate: Diane Allen (R-Burlington), Joe Kyrillos (R-Monmouth), Raymond Lesniak (D-Union), Kevin O’Toole (R-Essex), and Jim Whelan (D-Atlantic). For Assembly: Jack Ciattarelli (R-Somerset), John Wisniewski (D-Middlesex) and Gail Phoebus (R-Sussex).

Start you engines now to get the candidates you want to run in the General Election. 

  • Note that some candidates may later be disqualified and last minute submitters may not yet be on the list. The Division of Elections will update the information here.

Comment (1)

  1. Rosi Efthim

    Sharon Ransavage has filed for Democratic State Committee. With great enthusiasm, she is endorsed by Progressive Hunterdon Democrats. Hunterdon only has two slots representing this county to the NJ Democratic State Committee (NJDSC). We think Sharon will represent Hunterdon activists to the NJ Dems very well.

    Sharon was the Dem who ran against Leonard Lance when he was still an Assemblyman from LD23 in 1997. She’s a family law attorney who is also a former County Prosecutor. In 2016, she traveled to other states with the Bus for Progress to campaign for Bernie Sanders for President.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *