That’s the Jewish blessing of thanks that is said on special occasions, and the message that Steven Goldstein, Chair of Garden State Equality, sent to his co-religionist opponents of marriage equality at a press conference this afternoon in Trenton.

It was a joyous occasion, after several hours of “debate” in the Assembly chamber – dominated by supporters of marriage equality with their touching stories of family, civil rights, and equality – peppered with contrived rationalization of the status quo from marriage discrimination proponents.

Whether you give thanks with the Jewish prayer, or in some other way, today was an historic day for New Jersey, affirming the tenets of our Constitution.

In the end, the vote was 42-33. We’ll post some of the amazing floor speeches later, but here’s the press conference:

Comments (3)

  1. Rosi Efthim

    Was that fun to watch.

    Well done.

  2. deciminyan (Post author)

    Some of the floor speeches from yesterday’s Assembly session are posted here. Additional remarks will be posted over the next several days at the same link.

  3. zi985

    So we need to start targeting the 3 Senators and 12 Assembly-members that we need to hit 27 Senators in the Senate and 54 in the General Assembly to override Christie’s expected veto of the Marriage Equality bill by January 14, 2014.  

    List of Senators who help can with overriding the veto and get up to 27 votes (we only need 3 of them to vote yes):

    1) Senator Ronald Rice (D-28)

    2) Senator Jeff Van Drew (D-1)

    3) Senator Chris “Kip” Bateman (R-16)

    4) Senator Dawn Marie Addiego (R-8)

    5) Senator Tom Kean, Jr. (R-21)

    List of Assembly-members who can help with overriding the veto and get up to 54 votes (we only need 12 of them to vote yes):

    1) Assemblyman Gary Schaer (D-36)

    2) Assemblyman Joseph Egan (D-17)

    3) Assemblyman Nelson Albano (D-1)

    4) Assemblyman Matt Milam (D-1)

    5) Assemblyman Wayne DeAngelo (D-14)

    6) Assemblywoman-elect Gabriela Mosquera (D-4)

    7) Assemblyman Declan O’Scanlon (R-13)

    8) Assemblywoman Mary Pat Angelini (R-11)

    9) Assemblywoman Holly Schepisi (R-39)

    10) Assemblywoman Caroline Casagrande (R-11)

    11) Assemblywoman Amy H. Handlin (R-13)

    12) Assemblywoman DiAnne C. Gove (R-9)

    13) Assemblywoman Donna Simon (R-16)

    14) Assemblyman Jack Ciattarelli (R-16)


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *